Steer clear of FEAR!

Shake hands with lionHate it, hate it, hate it!

Why? Fear stultifies, mesmerizes, fossilizes, fantasizes, irrationalizes … and, over all, it’s just a pain in the butt! I find that so much of life is just facing fear head-on in whatever form it comes in a given day – fear of not having enough time, not getting things done, disappointing someone important to me, not achieving, getting older, lacking what I need – STOP! This is just ridiculous!

I take heart from the Apostle Paul writing to his understudy, Timothy, who must have faced fear.  Pauls says to him,

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. (King James, 2 Timothy 1:7)

I have no reason to be overcome with a spirit of fear when it is overcome with something greater – that is the Spirit of God within me, growing, expressing confidence, overcoming weakness, building courage, settling anxiety with the peace of a secure (sound) mind.

I find that fear, much like money, takes on a life of its own, if I don’t deal with it – regularly! It isn’t just a concept, but a force that would like to take control of our lives. This isn’t what God intends for those who love Him. I can feed on fear, and it will consume me; or, I can face fear with the greater power within me – the majesty and presence of the gift of God – the Holy Spirit who dwells powerfully in my heart to give testimony to the abundant life of Christ within!

Once again, I cast all my cares upon Him who cares for me (1 Peter 5:7), and I refuse to give irrational, damaging fears a place in my thoughts and actions. I am free to be “not afraid”! 

Stuart
www.faithsnap.com

Leave a Reply

